Galesburg Area Chamber Announces 2020 Thomas B. Herring Community Service Award Winner

GALESBURG, Ill. – The Galesburg Area Chamber of Commerce is pleased to announce Steve Watts is the recipient of the 2020 Thomas B. Herring Community Service Award at the Galesburg Chamber of Commerce’s annual Thanksgiving Luncheon held on Thursday, November 19.

Watts was selected from a nomination pool of 17 candidates. Watts has a long history of community service to Knox County including numerous boards of director positions throughout his career. Watts co-founded many local nonprofit efforts including Galesburg to Peoria Run for St. Jude’s Midwest Affiliate as well as being involved in forming Court Appointed Special Advocates. Watts was nominated by Mark Rudolph, CEO at KCCDD. “Thanks to Steve's tireless behind the scenes work many organizations such as KCCDD, Bridgeway Services, Camp Kidz, the Sheriff’s Department, DD Homes, YMCA, and many others in Knox County are in a more stable position”, Rudolph shares. Watts is a 29-year board member at KCCDD and helped create the Knox County Mental Health Board where he is the current chair.

“We knew this year’s event would look different, but we still wanted to push forward and celebrate this prestigious award. The award nominating committee had a phenomenal list of nominations to review. We know 2020 hasn’t been ideal but it certainly has given us all a reason to do something good to help our community”, adds Pam Gaither, executive director at the Galesburg Area Chamber of Commerce.

The 42nd Annual Thanksgiving Luncheon hosted by the chamber was held in a virtual format on Thursday, November 19. The event included a state of the city update from Mayor John Pritchard, a keynote speech from Matthew and Sarah Hansen from Knox County Brewing Company and the presentation of this year’s award by Harrel Timmons, the 2019 award recipient.